Share This


61st Annual Delta Exhibition

May 3, 2019 — June 30, 2019

Organized by the Arkansas Arts Center

The Annual Delta Exhibition presents a vision of contemporary art in the American South. Founded in 1958, the exhibition provides a unique snapshot of the Delta region. The Delta Exhibition reflects the region’s strong traditions of craftsmanship and observation, combined with an innovative use of materials and an experimental approach to subject matter. Guest juror Kevin Cole selected 50 artworks by 49 artists, representing 10 states to be featured in the exhibition. From the selected works, Cole named a Grand Award winner, two Delta Award winners and five Honorable Mentions. A Contemporaries Award winner was selected by the Contemporaries, an auxiliary membership group of the Arkansas Arts Center.

The exhibition is open to all artists who live in or were born in one of the following states: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Texas. Art must be original, completed in the last two years, and not previously exhibited at the Arkansas Arts Center.

Grand Award – $2,500 prize

  • Mabry Turner of Little Rock, Ark., for American Made: Greed, Lust, & Lost Love

Delta Awards – $750 prize

  • Scinthya Edwards of Helena, Ark., for Birds of a Feather…
  • Heather Christine Guenard of Cabot Ark., for LV-426

Honorable Mentions

  • Julie Darling of Memphis, Tenn., for Obscurity Often Brings Safety
  • Dylan Eakin of Seattle, Wash., for Portrait in Precipitate II
  • Mark Lewis of Tulsa, Okla., for Head (SP)
  • Mark Payne of Pine Bluff, Ark., for Denial
  • Sandra Sell of Little Rock, Ark., for Wood Line

Contemporaries Award – $250 prize

  • Michael Warrick of Little Rock, Ark., for Youth

About the Juror

Kevin ColeKevin Cole is a contemporary artist best known for sculptural works, paintings, and intentional use of color. An Arkansas native, Cole’s artwork has been featured in more than 475 national and international exhibitions, including the 42nd Annual Delta Exhibition (1999) at the Arkansas Arts Center. His work can be found in notable private and public collections around the country. Among his public commissions are a fifteen-story mural commissioned by the Coca-Cola Company for the 1996 Centennial Olympic Games in Atlanta and a twenty-foot high by fifty-five feet long sculpture commission at Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, Atlanta. His recent sculpture, When My Scars are my Testimony, is featured in the 2019 Atlanta Biennial at the Atlanta Contemporary Art Center. Cole has been a member of AfriCOBRA since 2003 and was inducted into the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame in 2018.

Read More »


61st Annual Delta Exhibition Artists


John Ahlen of Little Rock, Ark.
Joshua Asante of Little Rock, Ark.
Carrie Ballinger Porter of Little Rock, Ark.
Loren Bartnicke of Auburn, N.Y.
Kenneth Baskin of Lake Charles, La.
Zachary Blair of Little Rock, Ark.
Kim Brecklein of Harrison, Ark.
Cynthia Buob of Columbus, Miss.
Debra Callahan of Jonesboro, Ark.
Olevia "Libby" Caston of Russellville, Ark.
Julie Darling of Memphis, Tenn.
Karen DeJarnette of Little Rock, Ark.
Virmarie DePoyster of North Little Rock, Ark.
Dylan Eakin of Seattle, Wash.
Ivy-Jade Edwards of Memphis, Tenn.
Scinthya Edwards of Helena, Ark.
DebiLynn Fendley of Arkadelphia, Ark.
Bryan Frazier of Little Rock, Ark.
Janet Goodyear of Eureka Springs, Ark.
John Green of Little Rock, Ark.
Alice Guffey Miller of Monticello, Ark.
Heather Christine Guenard of Cabot, Ark.
Pam-ela Harrelson of Dallas, Texas
Carol Hart of Fayetteville, Ark.
Amber Imrie of Sunnyvale, Calif.

Sherry Leedy of Kansas City, Mo.
Mark Lewis of Tulsa, Okla.
Jason McCann of Maumelle, Ark.
Keith Melton of North Little Rock, Ark.
Daniella Napolitano of Little Rock, Ark.
Dale Newkirk of Hammond, La.
Kevin O'Brien of Ocean Springs, Miss.
Mark Payne of Pine Bluff, Ark.
Rashawn Penister of Pine Bluff, Ark.
Yelena Petroukhina of Little Rock, Ark.
Jason Rankin of Little Rock, Ark.
Zachary Roach of Memphis, Tenn.
Jay Sage of Oklahoma City, Okla.
Ray Scott of Little Rock, Ark.
Sandra Sell of Little Rock, Ark.
Hunter Stamps of Lexington, Ky.
Laura Terry of West Fork, Ark.
Holly Tilley of Little Rock, Ark.
Mabry Turner of Little Rock, Ark.
Katelyn Vaughan of Monroe, La.
Michael Warrick of Little Rock, Ark.
Laura Welshans of Little Rock, Ark.
Nancy Wilson of Little Rock, Ark.
Emily Wood of Little Rock, Ark.


The 61st Annual Delta Exhibition is Sponsored by

Isabel and John Ed Anthony

Bank OZK

Philip R. Jonsson Foundation

Lisenne Rockefeller

Dianne and Bobby Tucker

Terri and Chuck Erwin

Friday, Eldredge & Clark, LLP

AAC Contemporaries

Phyllis and Michael Barrier

Robert Chandler

Sandra and Bob Connor

East Harding Construction

Barbara Rogers Hoover

Don A.Tilton, The Capitol Group


  Grand Award supported by The John William Linn Endowment Fund

Exhibition supported by the Andre Simon Memorial Trust in memory of everyone who has died of
acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)

Reception support provided by Catfish Farmers of Arkansas

Arkansas Arts Center programs are supported in part by: the City of Little Rock; the Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau; the City of North Little Rock; Arkansas Arts Center Board of Trustees; and the Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, and the
National Endowment for the Arts.


Business Hours: Mon – Fri 9 AM - 5 PM    Address: 2510 Cantrell Rd., P.O. Box 2137, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-2137    Phone: 501.372.4000

© Copyright 2020 Arkansas Arts Center. All rights reserved. All text and images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without written permission from their respective owners.